top it certifications 2019
Credits - Kaplan IT Training

The Information Technology industry is constantly evolving. And as IT evolves, the recommended must-have certifications are also changing. To be respected in the IT industry, it is vital to have the right certifications and to update them as the technology evolves. If you are able to get these certifications or a combination of them, you will certainly be able to find a good job that also pays well.

Google Certified Professional Cloud Architect

This certification is relatively new, having debuted in 2017. This certification is all about building on the cloud platform. Earning this certificate proves that you can act as a Google Cloud architect. Those who have this certificate generally earn more pay than any other IT certification program. Since the Google Cloud is a part of many organizations, including public schools all over the country, there are vacant jobs everywhere. The exam is giving in a Kryterion center and it must be taken in person, not in a virtual space.


“The Open Group Architecture Framework” certification is a popular program for people who want to work in IT architecture. It has been used since 1995 and continues to change as technology changes. It is highly respected in the IT industry and by earning this certification, other IT professionals and clients know that you are a real expert in the field. What you need to know is that the test is timed and rather challenging. Fortunately, there are plenty of training programs available to help you score well enough to pass.

Certified ScrumMaster®

This certificate proves that you have mastered Agile Scrum methods and you can enact Scrum. With the certificate, you become a member of the Scrum Alliance for two years. You have to go to two-day workshop and pass an exam. The ScrumMaster certification must be renewed every two years so you can continue to keep teams working together seamlessly and at their fullest potential.

AWS Certified Solutions Architect

When you are fully capable of creating and executing on the AWS in a scalable way, you should be able to earn the AWD Certified Solutions Architect certificate. This is frequently at or near the top of recommended certification programs because of the constant growth in the cloud. To earn the certificate, you must work with AWS for at least six months. Then, you take the test at a PSI Testing Center. The exam includes topics like choosing the correct AWS service and designing on it. It also includes how to move data in and out of the cloud, too.

CISM – Certified Information Security Manager

This is another popular IT management certification that is designed for people who create and manage the security of an organization. The training program teaches best practices for international IT security. The program is managed through the ISACA website and that is where candidates register for the exams which are given occasionally through the year on computers. Along with passing the exam, earning a certificate includes having at least five years of experience in IT security. And, that security experience should be gained within a few years of either side of taking the exam. To maintain the certification, you must take continuing education classes.

ITIL® Foundation

For 30 years, this framework has been used all over the world. The certification program is popular because it helps organization align their services. The certification program also gives IT operations management professional learn how to manage incidents and to make changes to their organizations, too. The certification program is now in its fourth iteration and it now include lean management, DevOps, and Agile. This entry-level certification does not have an entry-level salary attached to it. To earn the certificate, you only have to pass the exam, but there are intermediate courses that do have prerequisites.

Citrix Certified Associate – Virtualization

This entry-level certification program is designed to teach people how to use Citrix, especially to run, preserve, and problem solve in the platform. Even though this is an entry-level certification program, there are not many people who have it. So, people with certifications are in high demand. To earn the certification, you do have to have some actual work experience in the field and you must pass the exam.

PMP® Project Management Professional

Managing projects in the IT industry is not a cake walk. If you want to be taken seriously as an IT Project Manager, then you must earn the PMP® certificate. Your customers and your employees will know that you can organize, plan, and execute projects better than most. The certification program includes two pieces, experience and an exam, with at least 35 hours in a training program and at least 7500 hours of actual project management – unless you have a bachelor’s degree, then you only need 4500 hours. You cannot take the exam until your application is approved. Once you have the certification, you must renew it every three years.

CEH – Certified Ethical Hacker

This certification program might sound like an oxymoron, but the Certified Ethical Hacker training is important in the world of IT. Ethical Hackers work to protect networks and precious data so that unethical hackers cannot get to the vital information. This training prepares people to look for holes and weaknesses in security defenses. People who earn the CEH certificate work hard to keep networks safe and to fix any problems they might find. The certification program is usually followed by a juicy salary. You only need to pass the certification exam to earn the certificate. The certificate lasts for three years and you do have to take credits to continue to keep it.

Cisco Certified Networking Professional (CCNP) Routing and Switching

Cisco is one of the better known names in the IT industry. Earning the Routing and Switching certification proves that you know how to work with enterprise networks and the complicated security, wireless, video, and voice systems. You will need at least 12 months of working on networks along with the desire to work on complicated networks. You also need to pass three exams, the routing, switching, and troubleshooting exams. This certificate is always in demand because large companies are always in need of help in their IT departments.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here